Binge Worthy TV Shows

Some of you already know that I’m just finishing up my masters degree in film. This makes me a lover of all things entertainment. I especially love a good TV show that I can’t get enough of. I’m currently in the middle of watching Top of the Lake, which I’ve been rationing so I don’t finish it too soon. There’s something so satisfying about finding a TV show that is so gripping that you escape into a different world while you’re watching it. Some of these shows that I recommend are a little more obscure and I’d love if you gave them a shot. Let me know what you think if you’ve seen any of these!

Top of the Lake, Bloodline and The Returned

Top of the Lake: this is a show based in New Zealand. The actress Elizabeth Moss is the star, who you may know as Peggy Olsen from Mad Men. For this series she speaks in an impressive kiwi accent (that’s slang for New Zealander) as a detective trying to solve the case of a 12 year old girl that’s missing-and also pregnant. Like I said, I’m in the middle of this show and it is so good. Find it on Netflix.

Bloodline: The tagline of the show pretty much sums up this series staring Kyle Chandler (Friday Night Lights). “We aren’t bad people, but we did a bad thing.” This show is completely gripping and is about a family with a complicated past and bad secrets living in the Florida Keys. This is my favorite Netflix series so far and that’s saying something, because there’s only one Netflix original series I don’t care for.

The Returned: This series can be a bit hit or miss for people, but personally I loved it. It’s about a town where people that have died start coming back to life, with no explanation. Things get complicated for all involved as you might imagine, but there are so many twists you don’t see coming. It’s definitely a horror type show. If you like American Horror Story, you’ll love this. Another easy access show since it’s on Netflix.

Black Mirror, Orange is the New Black, Fargo

Black Mirror, Orange is the New Black, Fargo

Black Mirror: if you like shows or films that are cerebral and make you think, you’ll love this satirical drama type series by Charlie Brooker. Each episode is unrelated to the next, almost like an anthology series. My favorite episode is a dystopian world where everything is paid by virtual coins that you receive by exercising on a bike and watching commercials. The only way to break out of the system is to become a star-but becoming a star in this utopia has serious consequences. You can find this show on Netflix as well, it has two seasons.

Orange is the New Black: This comedy/drama, “dramedy” is about Piper, played by Taylor Schilling, who has gone to jail for smuggling drug money almost 10 years prior for her then partner, who is also a woman (played by Laura Prepon). Not only do we learn about Piper’s complicated life, but we get to know her cellmates’ past in flashbacks and learn why they’re behind bars. Everyone I’ve shown this show to loves it, no matter age 18 or 65. This was one of Netflix’s first original series.

Fargo: You may know Fargo as the Oscar winning film by the brilliant Cohen brothers. This is the TV show starring Martin Freeman (The Hobbit) as the protagonist and Billy Bob Thornton as the antagonist. Wikipedia describes it as a black comedy crime drama, meaning it has serious dark themes and overtones. After the main character, Lester, meets up with a hitman by chance in the hospital, his life begins to crumble before his eyes with every bad decision he makes, like a giant set of dominos. This series was another I binged watch in a matter of days and didn’t want it to end. The second season is expected this fall and is an anthology type, so the second series is unrelated to the first.

I hope you enjoyed my recommendations. Please let me know if you can recommend some amazing shows to me yourself, or if you’ve seen any of these! I love TV and film talk!

MidTwenties Gal

3 thoughts on “Binge Worthy TV Shows

  1. Pingback: Summer Break: A round up with The Pro Bloggers Tribe | MidTwenties Gal

  2. The only show I’ve seen from the list is Orange is the New Black and that is one of my favorites. Are you excited for the new season? I think it starts next week. Also have you seen Daredevil on Netflix yet?

    Like

Leave a Reply or Comment

