Tips and Tricks to Survive the Hot Summer

When it gets hot and humid outside, my skin gets sticky and gross. I tend to feel icky from the heat and the only thing that makes me feel better is a shower or sitting in the air conditioning. Let’s face it though, we can’t take a shower or just sit in the air conditioning all day, some of us don’t have air conditioning and even if we did, we have places to go and people to see! I want to share with you some tips for beating the heat this summer.

1. Apply cold compresses or cold water to pulse points. I use this method all the time. Let’s say I’ve arrived at a restaurant to meet with friends and I’m roasting hot. I’ll run to the restroom and run cold water over my wrists and throw my hair into a quick pony tail until I cool down. Believe it or not, putting your hair up can cool you down because it uncovers your neck. Running cool water over your wrists is another great tip because it’s another area where your body responds quickly to temperature.

3769266711_f675821751_z-11

2. If you don’t have air conditioning, keep your windows and doors closed during the day. You can open them at night when it cools down a bit, but keeping them closed during the day keeps the hot air out and the cool air in. My dad taught me this and abides by it every summer. I don’t have air conditioning in my apartment and the only time I open the windows during the summer is at night time.

Fan

3. Get a fan and don’t be afraid to sleep with it on. Since I don’t have air conditioning, I swear by using a fan in the summer days and nights. There are no ceiling fans in my apartment, which I didn’t appreciate when I moved in because I am so used to using the fan as white noise. Now I only use a fan when it’s super hot, but when I do it’s a lifesaver. There’s nothing worse than not being able to fall asleep because you’re too warm.

4. Use cotton sheets. This is important! Cotton is breathable. It’s the same reason why women should be wearing cotton underwear to allow our lady bits to breathe. Using cotton sheets promotes ventilation and breathability in the bedroom, leaving you able to sleep without tossing and turning from overheating. I swear by Egyptian Cotton.

Find these at Bed, Bath and Beyond (click image)

Find these at Bed, Bath and Beyond (click image)

5. Drink plenty of water. The amount of water needed to consumer per person daily depends on climatic conditions. When the climate is warmer, you need more water. It only makes sense that in the summer when it’s hot you need more water to keep hydrated. If you’re exercising, you should be considering drinking water and eliminating drinks such as coffee and tea because they can have a diuretic effect, causing you to eliminate fluids.

drink-water

6. Drink water before bed, but not too much. When it’s hot out, sleeping through the night isn’t always a possibility and chances are you will be sweating. If you end up tossing and turning and as a result sweating, it can dehydrate you. Don’t drink too much right before bed , 8 ounces of water is enough. If you drink more than that, you might have to get up at 2 AM to pee.

7. Get a window fan. By getting a fan that can be put in the frame of a window, you can create a cross breeze that draws fresh, cool air into the home and allows dusty, warm air from inside of the home outside. If you’re worried about security, only do the top floor windows. Make sure there’s no gaps between the window frame and fan and if there are, make sure you fill them with cardboard or wood. If you can’t get a fan for the window, try using the easier method for cross breeze: opening two windows across from each other. It promotes airflow.

8. Dip your feet in cold water. This is another way to quickly cool down, but for obvious reasons you can’t do this on the go. I like to do this right before bed so I am nice and cool before I drift off into sleep. Try it sometime!

Hope you found this helpful!

-MidTwenties Gal

18 thoughts on “Tips and Tricks to Survive the Hot Summer

  1. Here in Texas not having A/C would truly be a health hazard so I can’t imagine a summer without it. Haha! I love taking a cool shower when the temps really start soaring above 100. I’m going to have to remember that pulse point trick. That would be perfect for cooling down when you’re out and about and can pop into a public restroom and run some water over your wrists.

    Like

    • Thanks for commenting, Miranda. Pretty name. I think I would die in Texas without A/C. I’ve only been to Texas once and it was sweltering! The wrist trick really helps. Or, if you’re wearing pants, roll them up to expose your ankles if you’re nowhere near a sink. 🙂

      Like

  2. Great tips! I used to work outside in the summer and found the pulse points thing so effective! This also helps when you’re feeling really sick and overheating… exposing ankles really works! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wonderful that you came to party with us Leah. Very practical tips on keeping cool. I hear the UK is having very hot days right now. When my youngest was about 6 months old we were in a very hot house and I used to put him in a bouncer with a dish of water to put his feet in. It did get a bit messy but who cares it was cool. Thanks for bringing your cooling message to Fridays Blog Booster Party.
    Kathleen

    Like

  4. Dipping your feet in water and using cotton sheets are such great tips for keeping cool in the summer! Thanks for joining the Link-It To Me link party, I hope you will join us again next week!

    Like

  5. These are great ways to stay cool in the summer. I also can’t imagine a summer without AC. I live in Arkansas so it frequently gets in the 90s/100s in the summer, but these tips are definitely useful for the summer time wherever you are!

    Like

Leave a Reply or Comment

