Art Gallery Exploration

Today it was extremely warm out. I only have a couple months left in Wales until I go back to the good ‘ole USA so I’m trying to see as much as I can possibly see while still doing my schoolwork. This weekend I didn’t do any assignments (bad Leah!) and instead my boyfriend and I just enjoyed the beautiful weather.

At one point we ducked into a beautiful (new!) art gallery in our town. It was very small, but had some really great art in it. As soon as I saw my favorite part of the gallery, I knew I had to share it with you. There was a display (seen below) of beautiful hand painted cards by artist Dodie Herschel.

OverallCardsPhoto

Aren’t they just lovely? I love the floral theme to them and I especially love the colors used. I really appreciate the skill of a painter. I dabble in painting, but I’ve never been too great. However, this has never stopped me from doing it as a hobby or prohibited me from enjoying doing it. I must have admired these cards for about 10 minutes since I couldn’t decide on which one I wanted, I ended up not buying one at all. The problem is I want them all! I’ll show you some of my favorites below.

3collageI honestly think all three of these are so beautiful, but I think the third one calls to me the most. It’s simple, but I love all the use of colors and how the leaves of the flowers slightly fade into an ombré type effect. If you look closely you can tell.

Multicollage

How amazing is this artist? I’ve found her website here if you’re interested in more of her work. Her and her husband do pottery as well! I hope you have had a great weekend so far.

-MidTwenties Gal

6 thoughts on “Art Gallery Exploration

  1. Dear Leah, came across your blog by accident (looking for something else) Thank you for the lovely things you have said about my work. I wish I had been in the gallery when you visited. It is always inspiring to know my work is capable of giving such pleasure to others. Needless to say I have great pleasure in creating my cards and such comments serve to spur me.

    Like

Leave a Reply or Comment

