Milk Alternatives: Beyond Soy Milk and Lactaid

Milk Alternatives- Beyond Soy and

Throughout my life I’ve had issues with dairy. Sometimes I’ll go months, even years without having an issue, but recently that hasn’t been the case. So I’ve cut out dairy and switched to a milk alternative. Recently I went to a local health foods store and explored my options. I’ve found that while there are a lot of options for people who cannot tolerate lactose, they aren’t necessarily edible-or tasty. All or most of these products can be found in health food stores or online. I’m going to start with the newest addition to my milk free collection in the fridge-

Oat “drink” 

No milk, no nuts, just oats. Oat drink is very good and my favorite kind is their chocolate flavor. My boyfriend is not a fan of soy milk, he hates soy milk and he absolutely loves this oat drink. It’s a very creamy and pleasant taste and would be great to put in a bowl of cereal.

Health benefits: Low in fat and cholesterol free!

Great For: cooking, but too heavy to use with baking!

Want to make your own oat milk at home? It’s a simple process. Here’s a great recipe.

Hemp Milk

Made from the plant with the same name, hemp milk is a strong, creamy milk alternative that is great to drink by itself or cook with. However, do not use it in hot drinks!

Health Benefits:  a great source of Omega 3.

Great For: cooking with savory dishes, not sweet!

Hazelnut Milk

A nutty, rich tasting drink that’s really easy to make at home. Soak hazelnuts at home in water overnight and blend them with water in the morning. Unlike the prior two drinks mentioned, hazelnut milk is not recommended for cooking use.

Great For: beverages like coffee and light desserts that don’t require cooking (puddings, etc).

Health Benefits: excellent source of the antioxidant vitamin E which promotes healthy hair and skin, as well as boosting the health of the heart muscles.

Cashew Milk

This milk is thicker than most other milks, but has an extremely creamy taste and is naturally sweet. I know I’ve said other milks previously mentioned were sweet, but this one takes the cake.

Great For: cooking, adding to beverages, making into ice cream. Get creative!

Health Benefits: Vitamin D, Vitamin B and Cholesterol free

Almond Milk

I love almond milk but I don’t like to buy it unsweetened, or it tastes a little too bland for me. With that said, the texture is extremely smooth and if texture or consistency is important when finding a milk alternative, then almond milk will probably be your go-to.

Great For: cooking, adding to beverages, desserts

Health Benefits: low in fat, but high in energy, proteins, lipids and fiber. It contains vitamins like calcium, iron, magnesium, phosphorus, potassium, sodium, and zinc.

Have you tried any of these alternatives? If so, which is your favorite? Hope you had a great weekend!

-MidTwenties Gal

4 thoughts on “Milk Alternatives: Beyond Soy Milk and Lactaid

  1. I’ve recently been told that I’m lactose intolerant, so I’ve been trying lots of different milk alternatives. So far my favorite is coconut milk, because it’s so versatile and slightly sweet without having added sweeteners. I did try a cashew milk ice cream that I loved, so I’ve been thinking about trying cashew milk plain, especially to put in my tea and coffee.

    Like

Leave a Reply or Comment

