Summer Book Recommendations

alejandroescamilla-book

I’ve been reading a lot lately, so I figured why not share some of my summer reads with you? All these books are great to read on your morning commute, your lunch break or even in the sunshine out on the deck. What I love about all of these novels is that they are serious page turners. I can’t read a slow book, if it’s slow I will put it down and I have little to no motivation to pick it back up again. I’m going to summarize and review these books and I hope to hear if you have any recommendations or if you’ve read them yourself. 

1. What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty. This book is about Australian native Alice, who after hitting her head loses a decade of knowledge. She wakes up in the hospital, unaware of her three children and separation from her husband. With a different perspective after her amnesia, Alice begins to rediscover who she is and what she wants in her life.

WAF

I really enjoyed this book and I feel it would make a great film. It’s a simple premise, but it is so entertaining and enlightening. I liked it so much I went on to read another book by her immediately after, which leads me to the next book.

2. The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty. A narrative of three different women, Tess, who’s husband is leaving her for her business partner and cousin, Celia, who has recently unearthed an envelope addressed to her from her husband and is to only open it after his death and finally the character Rachel, a woman in her 60’s that has lost her teenage daughter in a murder that had never been solved-yet. Soon all three women’s lives collide and chaos ensues.

THS

From reading just the summary, I thought oh wow this sounds juicy!  and I was so right. This book was amazing and kept me determined to figure out the mystery. I felt very connected to the characters throughout the novel and I loved how it kept me guessing. I would definitely recommend this if you like a good mystery.

3. Summer at Shell Cottage by Lucy Diamond. I’ve just started reading this book, I’m about 100 pages in and I can’t put it down. The story begins with Olivia and her newlywed Alec, two lovebirds who eventually purchase a holiday home where their growing family vacation during the summer. Shell Cottage turns out to be more than a holiday home, when Olivia finds out a shocking family secret that changes everything, right after her husband Alec died of a heart attack. There are multiple narrators in the book, other members of the family have their own perspectives about their lives and the family drama. I’m looking forward to finding out what happens next! Isn’t the cover of the book beautiful?

Summer at Shell Cottage (Lucy Diamond)

What books are you reading this month?

-MidTwenties Gal

PS- this is my favorite place to read, outside!

147H

Leave a Reply or Comment

