My Trip to Germany: A fun summer vacation

My trip to Frankfurt, Germany was amazing. It was a pretty last minute trip, with my mom inviting me and my boyfriend the month before. She had to be here for a conference and originally it was to be in Paris. She flew in from Michigan and my boyfriend and I flew in from England and we met at the hotel. 

The first night we were all very tired. My mom was experiencing a 6 hour time change and Ollie and I (my boyfriend) were experiencing a one hour time change, although we had been traveling since 5 am and were running on two hours of sleep. As soon as we got to the hotel we all showered and met in the hotel’s beer garden. Ollie had a German beer, my mom had wine and I had a mojito. So yummy! I love mojitos.

After we had a couple drinks we walked to the restaurant on the property of the hotel that served traditional German food. Oh my, we were blown away by the food and the service. The outdoor seating was beautiful furniture with these big parasols that were lit by fairy lights. I had Weiner Schnitzel and so did my mom and Ollie had some dish with just about every meat possible in it. We also noticed that when we sat down they were serving this pink punch that caught our eye. We each had a glass, it was strawberry champagne punch and it was magnificent. Have a look below at the photos of what I’ve told you about; the food, the restaurant and the good company, of course!

After dinner on the first night we were all really exhausted so we all went to bed by 11 PM. The next morning we woke up and had breakfast at the hotel and then while my mom was in her conference Ollie and I got a taxi to the city and walked around for a bit. We didn’t buy anything, but we did end up getting to see some beautiful German architecture as well as go into a German supermarket. I think it’s fun to go into a grocery store when you’re in a foreign country because you get to see what kind of food their culture eats and what is considered normal. I didn’t see anything crazy, I just recall telling Ollie that if I lived in Germany for any amount of time I would put on a lot of weight because everything in the grocery store looked delicious. Oh and the produce looked so incredibly fresh. There were a few fruits and vegetables I’d never seen before. For example, I saw what looked like to be mini tomatoes, both yellow and red, but they were the size of blueberries! Since I had no international phone service I couldn’t use my translate app to see what the vegetable was called! Here are a few photos from the second day we were there. Included in these photos are the mini tomatoes that I was talking about!

The third day we went to a museum and then to a restaurant where we all had Thai food and it disagreed with our stomachs. We quickly took a taxi back to the hotel and relaxed for the rest of the day. It was really nice to see Germany and I would love to go back. It’s beautiful, the people are very nice and the food is amazing. Oh, and did I mention the beer? I don’t even like beer and it was terrific. Ollie also had their famous Apfelwein (apple wine) with dinner on Thursday and it was so delicious. Take a look at how it’s served traditionally below:

IMG_0704

Have you been to Germany? What part and what was your favorite aspect? Do you have a trip coming up? My next post will be about how to pack for a summer trip!

Thanks for reading,

-MidTwenties Gal

2 thoughts on “My Trip to Germany: A fun summer vacation

  1. Oh my goodness! What yummy looking food and scenery! I’m so glad you had an awesome adventure! Like your new blog, too! Hugs…www.intheknowwithro.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a Reply or Comment

